The day the Cronulla Sharks took on Melbourne Storm in photos

CRONULLA have finally claimed an NRL premiership, outlasting Melbourne in an exhaustive battle at ANZ Stadium.

The Sharks ran out 14-12 winners against a Storm side that refused to surrender in a battering, heart-breaking encounter. 

The Sharks drew first blood in the NRL decider, taking a 2-0 lead in the opening minutes of the grand final. 

Follow along below and explore the entire game day experience through the photos above. 

Luke Lewis came within centimetres of a fist try in the 15th minute after a James Maloney line break. 

Moments later, a scrum-base play from Paul Gallen and subsequent inside pass put Ben Barba over for the first try.

The 8-0 scoreline stood until the 50th minute, when Melbourne forward Jesse Bromwich charged over to prove the Victorian side was far from ready to cede the 2016 title. 

Melbourne darted ahead through Will Chambers in the 64th minute, with Cameron Smith converting the Queenslander’s try for a 12-8 scoreline. 

A penalty to Cronulla for a shot on Chad Townsend gave the Sharks two sets on Melbourne’s line, giving Andrew Fifita all the range he needed to slam the ball down under the posts.